WhatsApp Delete for Everyone feature was a blessing in disguise. People were so happy to have it as now they were able to delete the embarrassing texts they accidentally sent others. The feature also helped save many relationships until now, but after this shocking revelations, you might be thinking to shift to Telegram. Researchers have warned that WhatsApp’s “Delete Everyone Feature” can put your privacy at risk and can even leave some of the files undeleted to recipient’s phone. As WhatsApp has the most extensive database and has gained popularity in all the regions of this world, it remains in the limelight for privacy concerns.
This feature works differently on WhatsApp for iOS and Android and yes the Android Users are safe, but what about iPhone ones? According to Researcher Shitesh Sachan, Delete for Everyone feature on iPhones doesn’t delete media files sent to iPhone users who have “Save to Camera Roll” setting on.
WhatsApp Delete for Everyone Feature has Privacy Constraints
The deleted message will disappear from the chat window or group, but if iPhone users have “save to camera roll” setting on, these files will not go anywhere form his phone. However Delete for everyone on Android is safe as if a user deletes the accidentally sent file, it will be removed from recipient’s gallery too.
This problem is confusing as Android users deleting the file send to iPhone user will think that the file would be deleted, but in actual it will remain in the device of the user. Isn’t it scary?
Currently, WhatsApp has not given its full verdict on it, and WhatsApp users disagree with the privacy issue pointed out by the researcher. However, a spokesperson from WhatsApp said:
“The functionality provided via ‘Delete for Everyone’ is intended to delete the message and there is no guarantee that the media (or message) will be permanently deleted—the implementation focuses around the message presented in WhatsApp.”
Seriously? Do you agree with this statement? Let us know in the comments section below.