Chrome will Warn You If Your Password has been Stolen


Google is now going to start warning you if your passwords have been stolen when you try to log in to a given website. So next time you try to login into a website, Chrome will let you know if your username and password were compromised in a data breach. It will also notify you to change any passwords.

Chrome will Warn You If Your Password has been Stolen

Users are able to control the new feature in Chrome Settings under Sync and Google Services. Currently, the feature is not available for every one but company will be gradually rolled out for everyone logged into Chrome.

Spoke-man of the company said:

“Chrome has safety protections built in, and now we’re expanding those protections further, When you type your credentials into a website, Chrome will now warn you if your username and password have been compromised in a data breach on some site or app. It will suggest that you change them everywhere they were used.”

Moreover, Chrome will also warn you in case you are about to enter your Google Account password into any suspected phishing website.

Previously, users were only able to make use of this functionality if they had Chrome’s sync feature enabled, but now it will protect whether the sync is turned on or not.

Within the next few weeks you will get to see the new Chrome feature that will let you know immediately with a pop-up if you enter a password that’s been used somewhere. You will also get suggestion you to change it.

Recommended Reading: Google Chrome Update: Breaking the Web Browsers

>
×
Close

Adblock Detected

Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker