FaceApp-A Danger to your Privacy

From the last, some days, you would have noticed your Instagram and Facebook loaded with your friend’s picture, making them look 80 years old. The Russian app named FaceApp went viral everywhere, and millions of people used it for several times just for fun. Everything was fun until a heated conversation about the company’s terms and conditions and FaceApp privacy policy was made. Fast Company noted that FaceApp is doing something terrible to your privacy.

It is uploading all your photos to its servers. However, it does not take permission from users or inform them that their pictures have been uploaded to the cloud.

“FaceApp uploads photos to its servers, and “the age effects are crunched by the AI there, off your device.” FaceApp does not alert the user that their photo has been uploaded to the cloud, nor does it specify in its policies if the company retains your original photo.”

FaceApp Privacy Concerns- An Alarm for People

However, here are the FaceApps terms and conditions that says that the company may use the photos uploaded by users:

“You grant FaceApp a perpetual, irrevocable, nonexclusive, royalty-free, worldwide, fully-paid, transferable sub-licensable license to use, reproduce, modify, adapt, publish, translate, create derivative works from, distribute, publicly perform and display your User Content and any name, username or likeness provided in connection with your User Content in all media formats and channels now known or later developed, without compensation to you.”

I was finding answers to some of the questions regarding the app. they might help you as well.

What Data FaceApp stores?

The Age forwarding app uploads the photos in the cloud. However, this app can only upload a picture that is selected by the user for editing.

How Long will your Data stay on Cloud:

Although we have granted the company perpetual license to all our pictures. However, it deletes mostly photos from its server after 48 hours.

How they are using your data:

Well, like me, many would-be thinking that the app will use your picture for facial recognition? well, it’s a big no as you have allowed it legally to do whatever it wants, through an “irrevocable, nonexclusive, royalty-free, worldwide, fully-paid, transferrable sub-licensable license.”

How can you Delete your Data from FaceApp:

By deleting the app from your phone, your photos will remain with them. However, users can put in a request to remove all the data from the FaceApp servers. In order to report it, follow these steps:

  • Open FaceApp
  • Go to settings
  • Tap on support
  • Click on Report a Bug and write “Privacy” in subject line

FaceApp Addresses Privacy Concerns:

FaceApp clarified its policy to TechCrunch. According to terms and conditions, user’s data can be transferred to the app development team but the company said the data remains to the server. According to the app, the photos that are stored in the server are used to make the editing process fast. It also revealed the pictures are deleted after two days. Moreover, the app revealed that 99% of users have used the app without logging in so they do not have much information.

Recommended: FaceApp: The Aging App has went Viral on Social Media

Fizza Atique

Fizza Atique is a Tech writer specializing in the intersection of tech and culture. She likes photography, VR, electronic music, coffee, and baking.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Close

Adblock Detected

Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker