Facebook Launches Break-up tool to manage content of Unwanted Friends. The tool is designed to help people manage how they interact with their former partner when a relationship ends or with unwanted friends whom you don’t want to interact more.
Facebook Launches Break-up tool to manage content of Unwanted Friends
Facebook Product Manager, Kelly Winters said:
“Starting today, we are testing tools to help people manage how they interact with their former partners on Facebook after a relationship has ended. When people change their relationship status to indicate they are no longer in a relationship, they will be prompted to try these tools,”
This work is part of our ongoing effort to develop resources for people who may be going through difficult moments in their lives. We hope these tools will help people end relationships on Facebook with greater ease, comfort and sense of control.”
The tool allows people to:
- “See less of a former partner’s name and profile picture around Facebook without having to unfriend or block them. Their posts won’t show up in News Feed and their name won’t be suggested when people write a new message or tag friends in photos.”
- “Limit the photos, videos or status updates that a former partner will see.”
- “Edit who can see their past posts with a former partner and untag themselves from posts with that person.
The new options are only available to use on mobile devices. Facebook will make changes and possibly add more features based on people’s feedback