The social media giant Facebook has launched a new feature that will tell you when people upload a photo of you, even if they don’t tag you. This facial recognition is very good when it comes to privacy. Facebook’s Facial Recognition will Notify When You Appear in Photos You’re Not Tagged In.
By this feature, you will even be alerted if your face shows up in someone else profile photos. After hearing the new of launch of Facebook’s facial recognition feature, people were very curious.
Facebook’s Facial Recognition will Notify When You Appear in Photos You’re Not Tagged In
To end this curiosity Joaquin Candela, Facebook’s director of applied machine learning wrote in a blog post:
“We’re doing this to prevent people from impersonating others on Facebook
The company is already using facial recognition technology in tag suggestion. When you upload a picture with people in them, Facebook guesses the person in your picture. However such facial recognition feature will raise many privacy concerns.
To cater the privacy issue, Facebook said in a statement:
“We always respect the privacy setting people select when posting a photo on Facebook (whether that’s friends, public or a custom audience), so you won’t receive a notification if you’re not in the audience,”
There is bad new! This feature will not stop bad people who use people images without asking them. As bad people can exclude people they stole pictures from by making custom audience settings.
For people worried about privacy, Facebook has incorporated new control that lets people to turn off face recognition. You will have to opt out for this feature however, if previously you have disabled tag suggestion, the new facial recognition feature will be turned off by default.
This feature is rolled out globally yesterday. However it will not be available in Canada and the EU due to strict privacy laws.