Social Media Apps, in a race of getting better, than each other keep on incorporating new features to amuse their users. This time Facebook has come with a new idea. Now Facebook allows users to decide what happens to their account after they die. Here’s What Happens to Your Facebook Account After You Die.
Now Facebook is a constant part of our daily lives. Almost all our personal memories are shared on the largest social media site. Facebook has decided to do something to an account of person who passes away.
Here’s What Happens to Your Facebook Account After You Die
In 2015 Facebook introduced legacy features that allows nominated person to either shutdown or memoralise the account. This task is done once the Facebook is officially notified of the owner’s death.
When you Memoralise the account, it becomes frozen and only visible to the people in the owner’s friend list. After the account is memoralised nothing can be deleted or posted from the page.
Now Facebook has changed this, and allows users to nominate a legacy contact who can have access to the account after the death of user is notified. However the legacy contact will have limited access to the account.
They can pin a memorial message to the front page of the account. They can also grant a funeral details and can download personal data such as photos, friend lists and videos.