Is Administrative Transfer of PTA and FAB to MoITT a Positive Step?

While, the Administrative of PTA & FAB has been Transferred to MoITT, so does this fundamental step play any significant role in coming days? Is Administrative Transfer of PTA and FAB to MoITT a Positive Step? The Federal Government on Monday transferred the administrative control of Pakistan Telecommunication Authority (PTA) and Frequency Allocation Board (FAB) to Ministry of Informational Technology & Telecom which were previously under Cabinet Division. The official notifications have been issued and now PTA and FAB will no longer report to Cabinet Division.

After transferring this control to MoITT, now the Ministry will be responsible for appointment of PTA Chairman & members, budgets, appraisals and in short all type of matters must take approvals from it.

Is Administrative Transfer of PTA and FAB to MoITT a Positive Step?

The previous reporting system to both Cabinet Division and MoITT for policy formulation & regulation approvals, has actually slow down the pace of official matters as it takes time to take approvals or indulge two parties on any issue.

The Government established these regulatory bodies during Musharaf regime so that the interests of consumers can be well-protected. At that time, the administrative control of PTA and FAB were given to cabinet division in order to become the loyal guardians of their respective sectors and come up with developments.

The present Govt. took this decision on the stance that the performance of regulatory bodies have remained unsatisfactory and that they did not protect the interests of relevant sectors.

Hence, the transfer of administrative control of PTA and FAB will definitely play significant role while speeding up the decision making process for the ICT development of entire Pakistan.

Also Read: MoITT 3rd Year Performance: Will Slow and Steady Win the Race?

A part from PTA and FAB, the control of some other following regulatory bodies are also shifted to respective divisions. These include:

  • National Electric Power Regulatory Authority: Water and Power Division
  • Oil and Gas Regulatory Authority: Petroleum and Natural Resources Division
  • Public Procurement Regulatory Authority: Finance Division

Back to top button