Now Google Let You Auto-Delete Location History

Now Google is letting you auto-delete your location history and activity data. The amazing feature was announced at the beginning of May but the company has implemented actually implemented it now. It is available on both Android and iOS. Moreover, it is giving you a relatively simple way to limit the scope of Google’s location tracking.

Now Google Let You Auto-Delete Location History

Previously users were able to turn off all tracking, but that simply was not allowing them the benefits of Google’s optimizations. Not everyone may find the idea of leaving your data in Google’s hands an appealing one on the flip side.

Google explained way back in May:

“We work to keep your data private and secure, and we’ve heard your feedback that we need to provide simpler ways for you to manage or delete it, Choose a time limit for how long you want your activity data to be saved—3 or 18 months—and any data older than that will be automatically deleted from your account on an ongoing basis. These controls are coming first to Location History and Web & App Activity and will roll out in the coming weeks.”

This feature is not providing the same functionality for app and web activity data. Google has rolled out the feature but it might take some time to hit your device, don’t expect to see this right away, it might take weeks to experience this new feature.

How to Activate it?

When it hit your device then you can activate it by following simple steps.

  • Go to your Google Account’s My Activity section
  • Tap the new “choose to delete automatically” option in the Location History area.
  • Now pick three or 18 months, and you’re done.

Recommended Reading: Now Google Maps Will Alert You If Your Taxi Goes Off-Route

>
Close

Adblock Detected

Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker