Twitter Introduces The Mute Button
Allows You To Silence Specific Users
Twitter announced that they will be introducing a new feature for its iPhone and Android apps, as well as Twitter.com, that will allow users to mute specific people and prevent their tweets from showing up in the timeline.
Mute gives you even more control over the content you see on Twitter by letting you remove a user’s content from key parts of your Twitter experience.
When you mute a user it means their Tweets and Retweets will no longer be visible in your home timeline, which of course also means you will no longer receive push or SMS notifications from that user if you have previously set up that feature. When a user is muted they will still be able to fave, reply to, and retweet your Tweets; you just won’t see that they have done so.
You can do this completely in secret as well, as the muted user will not know that you’ve muted them. You will also have the option to unmute them at any time. The feature is expected to be rolled out in the coming weeks.
[blockquote cite=”Darrell Etherington”]
My gut reaction is that this is going to make Twitter a more boring place. Previously, if I wanted you to go away, I had to be up front about it by blocking or unfollowing you. Tales of ‘accidental’ unfollowing abound on Twitter as people get caught trying to sneak away from their half of a digital relationship. Now you can cut your end of the contract with impunity.
The new feature began rolling out today, and everyone will have it in “coming weeks.”