Uber Users on iPhone can now Block App from Tracking their Location after Ride Ends

Good news for Uber Users: Uber Users on iPhone can now Block App from Tracking their Location after Ride Ends. Yes if you have iPhone, you can limit Uber’s ability to track your whereabouts.

When a person request a ride, Uber’s app users uses location tracking to steer drivers to your way. In this way when you request a ride you don’t have to enter pickup address manually.

Uber Users on iPhone can now Block App from Tracking their Location after Ride Ends

Last year after the App was updates, the ride hailing service Uber forced users to choose between “always on” location tracking and no tracking at all. Through this Uber could keep tabs in users even when they are not using its service.

The new iOS software of Apple saves you from it. iPhone and iPad returns to Uber some control access of their location. iOS 11 was launched on June 5 at WWDC event.

Uber officially announced that they will soon end this controversial feature. The feature will be removed as a part of new update for the app. Uber has released this update for iPhone users. Now it will only be able to track user’s location when they are currently using the App.

This version of update to stop tracking after ride gets finished will be made available to Android users in future. This month Uber has also came to settlement with U.S. Federal Trade Commission over complaints that the company made deceptive claims about privacy and data security. According to the deal, Uber will be required to undergo independently conducted audits every two years for the next 20 years.

Also Read: Uber Becomes Affordable-Introduces Cheaper Rides “Mini Uber” Today in Islamabad

Fizza Atique

Fizza Atique is a Tech writer specializing in the intersection of tech and culture. She likes photography, VR, electronic music, coffee, and baking.
>
Close

Adblock Detected

Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker