Worried of Having a Facebook Clone Account? Here's How to Check

Have you seen any messages from a Facebook friend saying that almost every account has been cloned?  Many Facebook users have reported that their accounts are cloned on receiving a duplicate friend request message telling them to forward the message to friends. Due to this, the Facebook users are forced to believe that they have Facebook Clone Account.

Facebook Clone Account is Just a Mass Cloning Scam

These messages termed as Hoax went viral on Sunday revealing that the sender has received a duplicate friend request from the recipient.

What is Facebook Cloning:

Facebook cloning describes a technique in which scammers create a fake Facebook profile by using images and other information stolen from a targeted user’s real Facebook profile.
However, the Facebook clone messages on social media nowadays are just a hoax.
Here is the message:

“Hi, I actually got another friend request from you yesterday…which I ignored so you may want to check your account.”

It further added that:

“Hold your finger on the message until the forward button appears…then hit forward and all the people you want to forward too. I had to do the people individually. Good Luck!”

It seems that Facebook users are being forced into thinking that their accounts have been cloned. Facebook has not commented on it yet.

This is not the first time Facebook is going through the mass cloning scan. Back in 2016, a similar mass cloning scam occurred on Facebook. A report while telling about the message forward scam revealed that:

“There appears to be no reason at this time to forward a message telling friends that their account may have been cloned without having actually received a duplicate friend request,”

Here’s How to Check Whether you have a Facebook Clone account:

One easy way to check to see whether your account has been cloned is to search your name on Facebook, reported The Albany Times Union. If more than one account with your photo and details shows up, your account may have been cloned.
Simply contact Facebook using the “report this profile” link on the bogus account, and it will be removed within 24 hours.
Reporting it is a good idea because spammers can otherwise use it to impersonate you and ask your friends for money or information about you.
But warning people that you’ve received a second friend request from their account is only helpful if you’ve actually received one.
Actually, people are terrified about this as just a week back,  Facebook had disclosed a widespread security flaw that has affected many Facebook accounts. The security breach allowed hackers or other malicious third parties to access an affected user’s account by extracting their security token. According to the reports, the flaw has affected as many as 50 million people. Moreover, around 90 million users now have to log back into their accounts to be safe.

Fizza Atique

Fizza Atique is a Tech writer specializing in the intersection of tech and culture. She likes photography, VR, electronic music, coffee, and baking.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Close

Adblock Detected

Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker