WhatsApp Chat will be Deleted if Not Backed up to Google Drive

WhatsApp has announced that it will delete all chats and media from those users who have not backed up their stored data to Google Drive. If users haven’t done it yet then they will lose their chat histories. So if you haven’t done this then just do it before you lose your WhatsApp chat and media.

WhatsApp Chat will be Deleted if Not Backed up to Google Drive

The company said:

“WhatsApp backups that haven’t been updated in more than one year will be automatically removed from Google Drive storage. To avoid the loss of any backups, we recommend you manually back up your WhatsApp data”

Earlier this year, the world’s most popular instant messaging app, WhatsApp had announced after reaching an agreement with Google to store chats and other data on Google Drive. The auto-backup feature will let you reload your data on different or new Android smartphones easily.

However, the major issue is that WhatsApp is not going to offer end-to-end encryption for chats backed up to Google Drive. Users have to compromise the privacy of WhatsApp messages once they are backed up on Google Drive. You can turn off automatic Google Drive backups by visiting Settings > Chats > Chat Backup > Backup to Google Drive, and changing the setting to ‘Never’.

Check Also
Close
Back to top button
>